Majlis Adat Istiadat Sarawak was established in October 1974. It was the brainchild of the late Tun Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Temenggong Jugah anak Baring who became the first President.


On 13th December, 1977 the Dewan Undangan Negeri Sarawak passed the Majlis Adat Istiadat Sarawak Ordinance, 1977 and it came into force on 1st April, 1979 to undertake data collection, compilation, codification, review, initiate amendments and provide greater awareness and advisory service in relation to the proper and correct interpretation of the native customs and adat.


The organization set-up of the Majlis consists of the Ketua Majlis who is also the Head and Chairman of the Majlis and twelve Members of the Majlis appointed by the Governor-in-Council, for a three-year term. The members comprise of ten paramount chiefs, one woman representative and a representative from the Chief Minister’s Department (State Secretary’s Office).


The Secretary of the Majlis is the Chief Administrative Officer who is responsible for the day to day administration of the Majlis and for the implementation of decisions of the Majlis.

Council For Native Customs And Tradition Sarawak Location